Southside ISD Announces its 2022-2023 Teachers of the Year

Southside ISD would like to congratulate all our amazing teachers this year for their inspiring and excellent work. We are so proud of our Teacher of the Year winners! 

Jason Garcia, a science teacher from Losoya Middle School, is the Southside ISD Teacher of the Year. He will go on to represent the SISD for the Trinity Prize in Excellence Award this year. Congratulations to a teacher the nomination committee described as passionate about students, inspiring, and exceptional at his job. Mr. Garcia walks away with a $3000 check and a district swag bag! 

Amy Fulk from Gallardo Elementary and Venessa Cerda from Heritage Elementary were finalists for District Teacher of the year. The following teachers won for each of their campuses: 

Julia Shay Thomas-Huggins, Southside HS, Science Teacher

Laura Martinez, Matthey MS, Social Studies Teacher

Alexandra Quintero-De Leon, Pearce Elementary, Special Education teacher

Crystal Dowell, Freedom Elementary, Fifth Grade Teacher

Irma Villanueva, Menchaca ECC, Kindergarten Teacher