Congrats to the SISD Teacher of the Year!


On Thursday February 2, eight Southside ISD teachers were honored before a regular scheduled board meeting with a reception and complimentary treats. Each 2016 – 2017 Teacher of the Year received a unique award with their name engraved on it along with a special gift from the SISD Education Foundation.

Heritage Elementary Teacher Claudia Rios Wright was awarded a check for $2000 the district’s Teacher of the Year. Mrs. Wright will be representing Southside ISD for the prestigious Trinity University  Award for Excellence in Teaching. Each district winner receives and award and us submitted for the grand prize of $10,000 which is announced later this semester.

The following Southside ISD teachers received awards:

Karen Harper, Southside High School
Mohammed Youssefina, Matthey Middle School
Tiffany Wheiles, Gallardo Elementary
Alisia Pena, Pearce Primary
Helen Anguiano, Losoya Intermediate
Claudia Rios-Wright, Heritage Elementary
Lynn Breland, Freedom Elementary
Daniel O’ Brien, DAEP

View photos from the event.